[PC] We will be entering into maintenance downtime on 10/15 at 6am PDT, and have an expected downtime of 5 hours. For details, please visit the following thread: http://bit.ly/terapcmaintenance
[PS4/XB1] Due to an error, we have extended current events (such as dungeon highlights) by one day. The new end time is now 10/15 at 0500 UTC. Thanks for your patience!

[DEV NOTE] Upcoming Gear Update Background

What follows is a message directly from one of the developers on TERA. This message is concerning the gear change update that recently went out in the KR version of the game.

Hello, my name is Gon. I’m a developer for TERA.

First, I’d like to apologize to all of you that we had not fully explained the background information on the latest TERA update.

We’ve heard that many of you have expressed a great deal of concern about the gear we added with the July 23 update.

We hope that this note will not only inform you how to utilize existing gear, but also alleviate your concerns by explaining the purpose behind the design, as well our future plans regarding the gear update, which we’ve not addressed in previous developer’s notes.

The Intent of the New Gear

First, let me give you a little information on the background of the new gear update.

Currently, TERA’s gear upgrade system is a “vertical upgrade” system, with a total of 36 enchanting grades and 4 upgrade levels, ranging from Guardian gear up to Heroic Oath.

When we first introduced Guardian gear, we reorganized the gear system in order to simplify the enchanting process and minimize grinding, thus improving the players’ access to gear.

However, the current system for gear is showing the same issues—in different forms—despite our initial intention and efforts to lower the barriers to upgrading gear.