[PS4/XB1] We will be entering into maintenance downtime on 11/18 at 6pm PST. For details, please visit the following thread: http://bit.ly/teraconsolemaintenance

Calendar broken?

Comments

• ChristinChristin ✭✭✭✭

@counterpoint said:

@DoctorDemento said:
    And the calendar continues to be broken. yes the exploiters are asshats who need to be caught and banned. But that said here are the facts. I have degree in computer science. I have 3 certs in programming. I am a retired network engineer who owned a ISP (internet service provider) here in the US for 8 years. I also did the IT work for it. I've even built servers for corps worldwide and one for NASA. And as a FACT of programming, they could have fixed this years ago and could fix it today. I want to make it perfectly clear, that is NOT my opinion. That is a matter of fact by programming standards. If they want to fix it. And yes the multiple publishers with different standards does not help the problem at all. I have been here for many years and knew back in the day if they didn't fix it, it would continue to compound into a larger problem and it has. And will continue to do so until they fix it. End of story.

You don't need this appeal to authority to assert that software bugs can be fixed -- that's obvious. But as I've explained, even if they had fixed the known bug years ago, there was a second bug that was previously undisclosed that still could have caused this same exploit anyway (and this second bug contributed to making the severity of the first bug much, much higher than previously estimated). It's easy to sit here in hindsight and say that they should have seen the second bug coming, but there's no direct causality there. Maybe a full security audit of the code to look for vulnerabilities would have caught it, perhaps. (I've often said that BHS need to be trained on the age-old adage "Never trust the Client.")