Let's Learn A Little Bit About Why Packet Injection is Bad

There's been a lot of talk about the recent 3rd Party tools announcement. There's been a lot of talk in favor of each side. My views are not relevant to this post though. Personally I like DPS Meters, and also realize that if they are just meters they hurt nothing other than the feelings of some players. But what I'm here to talk about is injection. This is why meters are getting lumped into the mix. (Realistically all 3rd party programs are prohibited and that should be adhered to).

So lets talk about how meters *would* work. I'm not an expert but I can give you a rough overview.

Say you hit a monster. A lot happens on the backend for that to happen. Your client send a packet of data that says "Hey, this dude attacked this dude." The server recieves that packet and says "Ok, it did this much damage. Show that on the screen." A packet is then sent to the client, it's deciphered and you see the change reflected on your screen. This is an extremely shortened version of the actual sequence, but the full system isn't relevant. What a meter should do and only do is intercept that packet of data sent back to the client, read it's contents, and then display them in a separate program. This does delay the packet, but the amount is so low it's negligible.

However a packet injector works a bit differently, and I hypothesize more detrimentally to the game as a whole. An injector alters that packet leaving the client, it can either modify the data inside the packet or add data. I think the adding data could be a big issue in mass use. That packet increasing in size for one person is nothing, but whenever a large amount of the data coming into a server is bigger than the system expected it could have some detrimental effects. In a way it's pretty similar to packet injection on a wifi network to cause distributed denials of service, aka ddos. (For more reading on that check out this very well written paper here.