[PS4/XB1] We will be entering into maintenance downtime on 10/21 at 7pm PDT, and have an expected downtime of 3 hours. For details, please visit the following link: http://bit.ly/teraconsolemaintenance

So you're a/want to be a TANK huh? (tank tips from a bored college kid)

edited October 2017 in PvE Discussion
Hey, I'm bored out of my mind from studying for exams. I randomly wanted to make a guide (more like tips really) on tanking for everyone (1-65) based on what I have seen and experienced. Feel free to skip around, criticize me, add to what I say, and ask questions.

Some info about myself, I've been playing since about 2013 or 2014. I have a level 65 Lancer, Ninja, and Priest.
I have played most of the end level dungeons in Tera, albeit not all of the HM ones. This however should not deter you from thinking I'm naive or lacking in experience. If you are willing to put the time and effort to be a skilled tank in Tera, I think I can at least lead you on the right path.

This will be going off of my lancer, but I wanna try to make it more general to tanking so I will try my best not to reference too many things from my class.

so with that... LET'S START!

The Journey of 1-64
This isn't taken seriously enough in my humble opinion. People speed through these eager to face the next challenge and don't get me wrong, I love that kind of drive. It's that same drive that will propel you into really caring to learn your class and make life easier for you and other players.

That being said, I suggest that if you're speeding through leveling, at least do some dungeon repetitions. At 65, that's the main appeal--challenging dungeons. The dungeons starting at high 40, low 50 (like Akasha or Golden Labyrinth) are one of those dungeons that are worth repeating. But some general things to keep in mind: