How Has Your Friday Been Treating You?

I got one question...how has your Friday been treating you? Cos for me, it's been treating me like a piece of ****.

So, when I got in to work this morning (I work as a food attendant at a 3-star hotel in my hometown), I was informed that we had no water (the hotel uses city water for all of its water needs). Why, you ask? Because last night, my city was working on a water main near my hotel. This maintenance was supposed to start at 11pm and be all wrapped up by 4am. Suffice to say, they started late and they did not finish when I got to the hotel. So that means, with no water to any of the hotel, we have no water for showers, no water for oatmeal, and perhaps most upsetting, no water for coffee. It also meant no dishwashing.

And unfortunately, in addition to this, the Front Desk was receiving call after call from angry guests asking us "When are we getting our damn water back"?

It took someone 2 hours to run down to a nearby hotel and get some coffee and run it back to us. Guests were complaining to us, to the front desk, and to management, despite the fact we could do nothing but wait for the city to fix the water main...which it didn't until after my shift.

Cos at first the water was supposed to be back on at 7am, then it got pushed back to noon. By the time they finally got the water back on, my coworkers and I were miles away from the hotel.

And even after my nightmare at the hotel, it wasn't over. Cos it was payday. And for me it was 3 paydays...my paycheck from 2 weeks ago that I hadn't picked up due to being out-of-state, my paycheck from this week, and my tax refund. The last one was what caused me trouble. Because the government said our calculations were incorrect and that we were actually due a larger refund than what we actually were owed. Problem is, we checked the calculations, and their calculations are incorrect.